trumpet vine

Discussion in 'Vines and Climbers' started by jar, Jan 11, 2005.

1. bcgift52

bcgift52 Active Member

The yellow trumpet is a Campsis. It's not the same as Morning Glory which you'll have to work on diligently to get rid of. If you want an evergreen vine, try Holboellia coriacea - it's fragrant, or even some of the Clematis montana varieties.

2. Ellen S

Ellen S Member

Here in SW Washington I've been battling a trumpet vine (Campsis radicans) for three years. I had the main trunk (!) removed and then spent 2 years working away at the shoots that came (and still come) up from the roots that radiate out from where the main plant was. I worked away with Roundup, but that only seemed to encourage Ms Campsis to push onward and upward. Last year I switched to Crossbow, which works better. I have dedicated a large chunk of my garden to Ms Campsis, so that she can pop up and be zapped without my having to protect other plants. So far so good, although that space looks really terrible. Digging up the roots is futile in our heavy clay soil, because they are about 2 ft down and so brittle that they break easily. Every little piece will grow a new plant... I cannot imagine anywhere that would be appropriate for a trumpet vine. It is surprising that nurseries here even sell them.

3. Goldylox

Goldylox Member

Re: trumpet vine & getting rid of it

Newt,

I read your story about the Trumpet Vine / Hummingbird vine... I too have a SERIOUS problem with this vine..... I planted it in a flower bed on a trellis, well, I have since that year ( 2002 ) until now, been trying to get it out of that garden..... It started coming up everywhere and including covering that trellis before summer was over....