Rhododendrons: Rhodo leaves yellowing/browing

Discussion in 'Ericaceae (rhododendrons, arbutus, etc.)' started by Freyja, Jun 8, 2008.

1. Freyja

Freyja Active Member

Hello,

I'm very new to outdoor gardening and don't know much about rhodos. I have three in our front north facing (shady) bed. They are fairly small and about 4 years old. The last 3 years, they have produced a few yellow flowers per plant.

This year, only one of them flowered, and produced only one flower clump. When it died, I dead headed it (first time I've done that in 4 years). I have also noticed that in the past week or so, some of the leaves are starting to turn yellow and brown (the plants were previously looking good, and growing new leaves everywhere).

Can someone help me with identifying why the leaves are yellowing/browning; is this normal? Is it due to neglect (since I haven't done much with these plants)? And what, if anything, can I do about it? Thanks so much!

Attached Files:

2. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

Looks like mildew. This is common here now. To keep it off you have to spray fungicides perhaps several times per year. I avoid the issue by no longer planting varieties prone to conspicuous damage (susceptibility varies, same as with roses, orchard fruit trees and flowering crabapples).

3. chimera

chimera Well-Known Member 10 Years