Please Review My Cacti!

Discussion in 'Cacti and Succulents' started by HaKaur, Sep 5, 2020.

Tags:
  1. HaKaur

HaKaur New Member

Dear All,

I hope everyone is well!

Please can someone help this Cacti family?

I went a bit mad buying loads of cacti at one point and I now own 6. You'd think I would wait to perfect my 'caring methods' before I buy a whole family but, I do love plants!

I will be 100% honest, I don't know much about cacti other than, not watering them too often. They are the easiest plant to keep however, I am noticing some changes.

As a complete beginner, I am trying to find out if any of my cacti are dying, or if there are any warning signs I need to look out for in order to care better for my plants.

I am searching the internet to find out why some spikes are turning yellow (three). Why some spikes look white (six) and why some spikes look very reddish/brown (four). I am reading many mixed reviews, some of which are at great length, which have confused me further.

Can someone please review all my cacti?

Many, many thanks in advance!

Attached Files:

2. HaKaur

HaKaur New Member

Also, can someone please tell me what is at the bottom of cactus two?

Attached Files:

3. mandarin

mandarin Active Member 10 Years

Nothing lethal, they actually look relatively healthy, but #6, which I think is a young Echinocactus grusonii, looks as if it needs more light. I think the two tall 'Fairy castle' cacti (#1 and #2) will need a repotting soon, and probably #5 too, columnar cacti tend to grow fast.

Differences in pigmentation, much like humans, cats, horses etc. have different hair colour. Spine colour in cacti varies with 1) species (and forms of a particular species), 2) age, young spines at the top of the plant often have a different colour than the old ones closer to the base.

Looks like salt crusts.

4. Margot

Margot Renowned Contributor 10 Years