New here :) Is my Clematis Armandiis a gonner?

Discussion in 'Vines and Climbers' started by heathercubby, Feb 20, 2009.

1. heathercubby

heathercubby Member

Hello - I'm sitting our newly bought home in Steveston and admiring the patio view, when it dawns on me that 70% of the Clamatis Armandiis vine facing me is looking glaringly dead, dead, dead. Brown leaves everywhere and a pitiful sight.

I'm new to gardening, but love it so far and was wondering if there is any hope for this new vine in our lives. The past owners may have neglected it, I wouldn't put it past the wind having a hand in it's demise?? Is it beyond saving or is this normal?? Should I prune it down and hope for the best or leave it and see what happens.

Sure appreciate any votes of confidence, I here this vine is lovely in the spring and smells to die for... erp! I mean, divine.

2. lorax

lorax Rising Contributor 10 Years

I'd prune it back fairly harshly, and see what happens. If it truly is dead, pruning will at least get the vines off of your patio for next year - so that you can start again. If it comes back, it won't have to deal with all that gack in its living space. Either way, you win.

3. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

See what happens BEFORE cutting back. The plant will tell you where to prune by sprouting behind the dead parts. Apart from occasional winter injury these always keep quantities of old dead leaves which must be snipped off every year when the plants are situated where the buildup is bothersome.

Much better growing freely through a tree, where the dead leaves are not important than confined to a frame.

4. heathercubby

heathercubby Member

Thanks for the advice - I was hoping there was a silver lining! I will wait a bit to see where the new growth comes and then prune. I'm a bit hazy on what pruning a vine would look like, but I'll give it a go. Any advice on that note would also be interesting.

Cheers!

5. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years