Need help with pruning a climbing rose

Discussion in 'Rosa (roses)' started by Kristov, Mar 14, 2009.

1. Kristov

Kristov Member

Last year I planted two climbing roses (Eden/ Romanticas) they are in a teak container in a spot with plenty of sunlight (I’m in Brooklyn, NY). I had a couple of nice blooms at the beginning of the season, then nothing, but the plants grew a lot, more than 6 feet tall (attached to a trellis) and they looked very healthy. Now I can see them start burgeoning again and I think I will have to prune it. I'm totally new to this (and a bit nervous). Is it the right time now, or should i wait some more? Also I really don't know how much to cut off. I was hoping to keep the height, isolating the stronger stalks and cut all the thinner stalks. Any advice? What can I do to make sure to get more blooms this year, what plant food should I use?
    Thanks

2. K Baron

K Baron Well-Known Member

I must confess that I am not an expert on roses, but this I do know, a climber rose has a deep tap root, and if potted this is not favourable to the rose bushes' development and bloom (moisture retention,aeration,percolation, fertilization, so many factors..). You would need a sizeable pot (something so large and cumbersome to transport) to contain a climber, yet hope to see a reliable and continual annual abundance of blooms. Is it possible to plant your rose in the ground?

3. Kristov

Kristov Member

Thanks for your reply-I wish I could plant the rose in the ground but I don't have that option. The countainer is pretty large and the plant grew so well on the first year that I hoped it will survive and bloom this spring-will see...

4. joclyn

joclyn Rising Contributor