moth orchid care and problem ID

Discussion in 'Orchidaceae (orchids)' started by august00west, Jul 15, 2007.

1. august00west

august00west Member

I am new to orchid care and was wondering if anyone could ID what is happening to this moth orchid. Pedals are wilting then falling off. Dont know if this is natural or a problem resulting from care. I just started fertilizing with a high N fertilizer and the orchid is in a moss type medium. As you can see in the picture, below the remaining pedals is where the first stem and pedals fell off. The middle pedal, as you can see is starting to wilt like the one that fell off. Thanks for all responses.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jul 16, 2007
    Flower Lover likes this.
  2. orchidboy

orchidboy Active Member

hi,
    there are a number of things that could be happening.
    1. it may have finished flowering
    2. you may have it in a to sunny, or to hot posaition
    3. I would suggest not to fertilize it while it is in flower, also how much are you fertilizing it (how often)
    i hope this helps

Flower Lover likes this.
  3. photopro

photopro Well-Known Member

Orchidboy is right on track! Most orchid blossoms only live about one month. Some can make it longer and many make it far less. A few species only last a single day! Depending on when this spike opened it could easily be near the end of the bloom's life. Especially if this was recently brought home from an orchid source. Rarely do sellers take note of when a spike opens so when you buy one you are taking some gamble that it will last any time at all. The best rule is pick a plant that is just beginning to open. Best if only a single flower is unfurled with the others still in bud. May not be as beautiful at the moment you buy it but you'll enjoy it much longer.