Is there any hope for my venus flytrap seeds?

Discussion in 'HortForum' started by Bambi, Mar 30, 2006.

1. Bambi

Bambi Active Member

I received my seeds via mail, mixed 50% perlite and 50% peat moss together and put the seeds on the surface. I kept the soil moist with clear rain water, on a window sill with a piece of clear plastic over the pot.

I did all this about 2 months ago, and I got nothing. Well, a mysterious weed grew in the pot which was probably in the soil mix.

And then a couple weeks ago I put the pot into a ziploc bag, zipped up.

The instructions I have said they germinate "within 2 to 4 weeks but may take months to a year" is this correct?

This is my first time growing a plant, is there anything I did wrong? Is there any hope?

I've included a picture of the pot.

Attached Files:

2. Eric La Fountaine

Eric La Fountaine Contributor Forums Moderator 10 Years

Hi Bambi,

It sounds like you did the right things. Cool temperatures would inhibit germination. The seeds of some plants can take a year to germinate (or longer)—I don't know about Venus flytrap, Dionaea muscipula.

I must say you have chosen a rather challenging project if this is the first plant you have tried to grow. Here is a link to some germination instructions and seedling care from the International Carnivorous Plant Society:
    http://www.carnivorousplants.org/seedbank/species/Dionaea.htm

3. flytrap

flytrap Active Member

Flytrap seeds, like their other North american carnivorous plants require a period of stratification ( a 6-8 week period of cold). This mimics the natural conditions of VFT, Dionaea muscipula (North Carolina). The cold period followed by warmth and moisture "wakens" the seed into germination. Seeds generally germinate anywhere from a couple of weeks to a few months.

I'm currently growing over a thousand VFT from seeds, and I gave it a short stratification period of a couple of weeks before sowing it into a 50:50 peat/sand mix.

4. flytrap