Date Palm Seeds

Discussion in 'Plant Propagation' started by F1aReD, Feb 24, 2007.

1. F1aReD

F1aReD Member

Hello all,
    I'm very new to seed germination so I admit now, I know nothing about it lol. A few weeks ago I ordered a little bag of 15 Phoenix dactylifera seeds. I followed everything on this website: http://www.personal.u-net.com/~treetops/germinat.html
    Well, so far I've followed everything that the website has said to do. I check up on the seeds every few days but so far, I'm getting nothing but mold. I soaked the seeds for 24 hours and left it on top of the stove. During that time, I changed the water out every few hours. After that, I mixed them into Perlite (since I have no Vermiculite and I cant find any at my local garden center) with a tablespoon of water. From that point on I've just been waiting and so far, I got NOTHING! I also read that palm seeds cant take up to a year to germinate! Does anyone have any ideas/suggestions? Any other way to germinate them? I've been thinking about some moist soil in a baggy on top of the stove..All help will be greatly appreciated...thanks

2. LPN

LPN Well-Known Member 10 Years

Normally these will take more than a few weeks to germinate. Mold is not good and perhaps too much moisture is in your equation. Heat during the day and regular room temps at night. So a fluctuation in temps is better than constant.
    A better suggestion still (what I've done successfully) is buy a 2 lb box of Medjools. The fruit is tasty and the seed is fresh for germinating.

Cheers, LPN.

3. Michael F

Michael F Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator 10 Years

There's a much easier - and cheaper - way to do this. Go to the supermarket, and buy a packet of dates (just check that they're not stoned!!). Eat the dates, and sow the stones.