Calling all Rose Rustlers!

Discussion in 'Rosa (roses)' started by singer74, Oct 6, 2007.

1. singer74

singer74 Active Member

Anyone ever go "rose rustling?" This is the act of searching out old roses and taking cuttings, then trying to get them to root. I would love to hear some success stories as I am new to this whole thing. I live in Zone 5-6, and around here I hear that it's a good time to take rose cuttings.

A few days ago, my husband and I were out for a country drive, and we stopped at one point to take a little walk along a bike path. We both noticed a strong apple smell in the air, but there were no apple trees! We didn't know what to think. Just at that moment, a certain bush caught my eye, as it had large bright red "berries" all over it and they made a striking picture. Upon closer inspection I realized that the berries were in fact rose hips, and we had discovered what I think might be Eglantine! The Eglantine rose is known for its apple-scented foliage. I talked my husband into climbing into the bramble (ouch!) to pull off a stem for me. From it, I got 4 cuttings and I am attempting to root them now.

We also retrieved one of the ripe hips. I took the seeds out and stuck them in the fridge to keep for winter. I have read that it is difficult to start roses from seed, but I figured it was worth a shot at least.

Last edited: Oct 6, 2007
  2. Weekend Gardener

Weekend Gardener Active Member 10 Years

It's not difficult to germinate rose seeds. The seedlings of Rosa eglantine should come true, being a species rather than a hybridised variety.

I find this article by Dr. Malcoml Manners the easiest to follow. The Texas Rose Rustler h as a much shorter much shorter article on seed germintion. Their website also has an interesting article on the etiquette of rose rustling.

Last edited: Oct 8, 2007
  3. singer74

singer74 Active Member

Thanks for the info, it is very helpful!

4. alabama

alabama Active Member

Hello fellow rustler,