Wisteria woes

Discussion in 'Vines and Climbers' started by cal1, Aug 28, 2009.

1. cal1

cal1 Member

I bought a tall wisteria two years ago and it flowered (a little) last summer but there has been no sign of flowers this year. Now it looks like a tall stick with a few rather raggedy leaves branching off from three or four shoots at the top. It has never been pruned and has only a tall bamboo to climb. It has reached beyond the height of that bamboo and I was going to hammer some nails and wire into the brickwork to help it along but it hardly seems worth the effort for the show we've had this year. As you may be able to tell I am a novice and would like advice on whether it can be salvaged.

Cal.

2. Liz

Liz Well-Known Member 10 Years

Did it make any new shoots?

I have a runaway on a 2nd storey balcony and it makes huge long tendrils that I prune back over summer. My flower buds are starting to show (spring coming here) I don't prune in winter till i see where the flowers are.

Is it in a pot?

Could it be pot bound, hungry.....

Are you able to plant it in the garden in Autumn when all the leaves are gone so it can get a good run on.

Liz

3. Greerish

Greerish Active Member

The lack of pruning could be one of your problems. wisteria should have it's new growth pruned in late summer back to between 4 and 6 (somthing like 15 cm) buds to create flowering spurs and then again in winter cutting the spurs cut back to 2 or 3 buds.
    if it's only been in the ground since last year it might just be sulking at being planted out but it should take off once it settles in give it a feed too.
    It's worth getting some support up now before it takes off and getting at the wall becomes a problem.

4. cal1

cal1 Member