What happened to my C. nuciferas?

Discussion in 'Outdoor Tropicals' started by Nick Bryan, Sep 23, 2021.

1. Nick Bryan

Nick Bryan New Member

Hi,

I am relatively new to plants. I started to do this about 3 months and have put considerable effort into learning. I thought once Cocos Nuciferas were sproted (not yet leaves) just the sprout, and over 50% of the sprout covered in green, according to ALL I read on the internet, I thought they were going to start needing lots of sun. Turns out, on a partly cloudy/partly sunny, but mostly sunny afternoon, I put my C. Nuciferas (two) outside from 12:00 pm to almost 5:00 pm. I put them in the clear plastic bag with some water and sealed on a pot to keep them humid and warm, I did everything I read. When I went to bring them back in at about 4:30 pm, they were not as green anymore, they looked like a tanned human...... In that very moment I wondered if I had just caused irreversible damage, I could not understand what I had done wrong... I put them back in their seedling trays where it is warm and humid (28° C - 32°C) and check on them after 4 days. After 4 days they are even more discolored and brown, only the tip remains (1.3cm) remains hardly green, mostly yellow, and the rest is just pure brown, I saw no growth whatsoever in the orange roots or sprout in those 4 days like before this, nothing. I put them back in and once again check on them after 2 days, and this time they are covered in white, and one of them in a bubbling odd substance. I am basically thinking now I killed them. No idea where I failed, I thought they needed plenty of sun according to what I read. The way I found them, and the way they look, this does not give me too much hope.....3 months into the garbage... Ignorance is just..sad. [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] Please let me know if you can see the photos. The 2 first ones show the C Nuciferas before I put them in the sun, the others show them at 4 pm after being in the sun,