Identification: Unknown Plant That Is Sick

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by mollykemp, Jan 23, 2010.

1. mollykemp

mollykemp Member

So my sister-in-law gave me this plant last week. I don't know what it is or what to do with it.

It was green and purple when I first got it, but now it looks almost dead (mostly a dark purple except the leaves in the center have a little dark green) and covered with white fuzz. I think it is infected with something. She got one for herself and it is doing fine.

So, my questions are as follows:
    1. What kind of plant is this?
    2. Is it dying?
    3. If yes, what can I do for it, if anything?
    4. If it isn't dying, then what is going on?
    5. Is this contagious to my other plants?

I am a newbie when it come to plants so I am at a loss for what to do with this. I am worried that it is going to kill all my other plants that I just got.

Any help would be appreciated.

Attached Files:

2. smivies

smivies Active Member

It used to be an African Violet. The soil looks a very dry? I might suggest that its demise is a cultural issue (rather than disease). Factors such as too much water, not enough water, extreme temperatures, could all lead to the current state of the plant. IMHO, I think attempting to save it at this point would be quite involved even for an experienced African Violet grower.

3. mollykemp

mollykemp Member

The soil is dry. I water it little bits at a time (because the water runs right through it) but it never seemed to get damp. Since it was a gift out of the blue, I don't have a pot for it at all and didn't get paid until yesterday. Would that be the difference between hers and mine? She was able to repot and I wasn't? The soil is strange in the fact that it is hard and doesn't seem to soak up water.

4. mollykemp

mollykemp Member

Also, what things could I do to try to save it. Since it was a gift and all. That way I could say I did everything.

5. smivies

smivies Active Member