Succulent garden

Discussion in 'Cacti and Succulents' started by jeanneaxler, May 27, 2008.

1. jeanneaxler

jeanneaxler Active Member

I am want to plant a succulent garden in the shade. Plenty of light. No sun.
    I have killed a few- not over watering (at least I don't think so!)-
    Wrong variety? I need help.
    PS. I do very well with cacti in the sun (I live in Los Angeles)

2. joclyn

joclyn Rising Contributor

most succulents are sun-lovers, so they wouldn't do too well in a shaded spot.

what did you want to put in that spot?

3. jeanneaxler

I am looking at using as many plants as possible that need little water. The spot is small, under a palm tree on the north/northeast corner of the house.
    I have failed to keep Christmas cactus blooming or even looking alive!

4. cjjulian

cjjulian Active Member

hey there, Im no expert at this but i actually found this echiveria under rose bushes when i moved into my home (NorCal SF Area). Maybe that can help you out. Even tho, i do not tend to these as i do to my other succulents, Im surprised that its still living, since the auto-sprinkler goes on every other day! (i dont recommend that kind of watering for your succulents) its just an idea how hardy these guys are doing!

here is a recent picture that i took of it. Still waiting for it to bloom! http://cjjulian.smugmug.com/photos/299715295_z4Eyx-M.jpg

and also, I found that some Aeonium's are very hardy! check some out and do some homework on it! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aeonium

I will be (hopefully) going to Ruth Bancroft Gardens out in my area and will see what succulents do well in different areas. I shall report back and maybe can help out more from my findings. http://www.ruthbancroftgarden.org/index.html

5. jeanneaxler

Thanks cjjulian this is very helpful. Hardy and adaptable is what I am looking for.

6. lorax

lorax Rising Contributor 10 Years