Potted fruit & veggie in South Ontario

Discussion in 'Fruit and Vegetable Gardening' started by fruitlover, Sep 6, 2004.

1. fruitlover

fruitlover Member

I am living in an apartment in South Ontario. My balcony is facing East and have strong light but only direct Sunshine from about noon to 3.

I am thinking to plant some potted fruit and veggie on my balcony but with no clue which type is more suitable and when to start.

I personally like berries, grape and leafy veggies. As an amateur, I am ready to listen to any suggestion.

Thanks a lot for the help.

2. Eric La Fountaine

Eric La Fountaine Contributor Forums Moderator 10 Years

Hey Fruitlover, I am just reading over the forums and noticed your post had not been replied to. Interesting question - what food plants can be grown in pots in limited space? I assume you are planning for next spring. Depending on how much space you have, I think some of the really small dwarf fruit trees could be grown. I don't know about grapes in a pot...maybe? Dwarf blueberries can be grown in pots. Currents or gooseberries might be nice.

As far as veggies, I think you could try growing a lot of different garden plants in pots. tomatoes are easy. Greens and herbs are very rewarding in a small space. Vines like peas and beans can be trellised to increase yield in a small space. Strawberries also do well in pots.

If you like berries you may want to try Physalis angulata or P. peruviana, common names, ground cherry, cape gooseberry or golden berry. They are related to tomatoes and can be grown in similar conditions. They look like tomatillos but have a sweet-tangy exotic flavour. They were one of the favourites in my garden this past year. I think they are underrated and should be grown more. Research on P. angulata has also indicated health benefits. The plant is grown as a medincinal plant in many tropical areas. Interesting Link