Orchid ID and tips, please?

Discussion in 'Orchidaceae (orchids)' started by lorax, Jul 23, 2007.

1. lorax

lorax Rising Contributor 10 Years

As I've said before, I'm very new to this (thank you for bearing with me) and I'm generally clueless.

These are blooming in my greenhouse. Beyond that they are orchids (they have pseudobulbs and the general 3-sepals, 3-petals conformation) I'm right in the dark. These are tiny (maybe 2cm across if that) on spikes that have been getting taller. The plant has thrown two spikes.

What are they, please, how do I avoid killing them, and how do I make more?

Thanks!

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jul 23, 2007
  2. photopro

photopro Well-Known Member

Can you give us a photo of the leaves of the plant so we can attempt to confirm the tribe? These appear to be species orchids.

3. photopro

I have shown your photos to Steve Marak who is well acquainted with rare orchids. Since you are from Ecuador you appear to have a very unusual species. Steve has listed some things we would like to know in order to attempt an identification:

"Photos of the leaves will help. Since the oster says it has pseudobulbs and not
    a stem, I assume it's sympodial. From the first image, it looks like it's
    unifoliate, and that the infloresence arises from the rhizome or somewhere
    low rather than terminally from a pseudobulb, but it would be nice to know
    both those things for sure.

Also whether the pseudobulbs are smoothly rounded (ovoid in cross section)
    or if the perchance are sharply angled (roughly triangular or square in
    cross section), and the overall size of the individual flowers and the
    leaves and pseudobulbs ... and whether there's any fragrance ..."

In addition, there is a great company in Ecuador that collects and exports rare species orchids. They have a good website with lots of photos. I plan tomorrow to try to use their site to find this species but you may wish to check it yourself at: