Japanese (Emperor 1) Maple

Discussion in 'Maples' started by TT0RQ0, Jul 17, 2006.

1. TT0RQ0

TT0RQ0 Member

I am a novice gardener and planted a Japanese Maple (Emperor I) purchased from a nursery 16 days ago and am worried about the leaves that seem to be dying up. It starts with the tips of the leaves looking dry (possibly burnt) and gradually expands to the whole leave; I live in Central Illinois and planted this tree two weeks ago.

I followed the instructions given by the nursery and planted it using an organic compose called Earth Grow (it was mixed at a 50/50 ratio, (50% original soil with 50% Earth Grow)). First week instructions were to water it every day not letting the root ball get dry which I did. Concerned about possible over watering I purchased a moisture meter and keep it at the base of the tree and watch it closely to maintain the scale in the moist zone. I did not utilize any fertilizer and the tree was planted on the east side of my deck. It gets morning sun until approximately 9:30 at which time it is shaded by two cotton wood trees until 1pm, then it then gets full sun. The tree is 4 feet tall.

I was researching my problem on the internet and decided my problem may be direct sun even though everything that I have read indicates the tree is tolerant to direct sun. To help eliminate this problem I purchased an arbor and covered it with a shade fabric which has eliminated the direct sun boring down on it until it is established. Does anyone have any other suggestions? I know its been only a few days since I shaded it with the shade fabric and may be panicking for nothing but it doesnt seem to be coming out of it. While on a golf course over the weekend approximately 20 miles from my home I saw a tree just like mine but more mature and it was in direct sun and the leaves looked perfect.

Thanks in advance for any help.

2. Rima

Rima Active Member