Dracaena Reflexa Plant

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by sword88, Apr 14, 2015.

1. sword88

sword88 New Member

Hello Everyone,
    this is my first time posting... I have a Dracaena Reflexa plant and I need some information on how to replant it. It has been dropping leaves regularly lately. About a month ago I looked at the roots and tried to see if there was any rot and the roots are growing around in circles I did remove one piece of the root that was hard and was unsure on whether to cut the circles of root or just leave them as is. When I did this I had only a little bit of new soil so I put that in the bottom and the old soil on top hoping that would maybe help but it is still shedding two to three leaves per week. I don't have much plant experience in fact I only have one plant this is it. I keep it at work. I want to know what to do to keep it from dying. This plant has very special meaning to me a week after my son passed away another bud came up and is now taller than the original.. may sound silly but it reminds me of him. I would like to know the best soil to plant it in,should I cut the roots,how much bigger of a pot should I get and any other tips you can give me.. I water it once a week It is what I have always done and I watering it too much or not enough? I apologize for ALL of my questions any advice would be really appreciated. I tried to attach a picture of it but failed it is below this I am not that computer savy :(

Attached Files:

2. Daniel Mosquin

Daniel Mosquin Paragon of Plants UBC Botanical Garden Forums Administrator Forums Moderator 10 Years

*bump* on behalf of user

3. edleigh7

edleigh7 Well-Known Member

looks like it needs more light, can you put it outside for one day a week or something

4. Charles Philip

Charles Philip Active Member