climbing rose & Salix matsudana curly willow

Discussion in 'Outdoor Gardening in the Pacific Northwest' started by Candy McKivett, Mar 28, 2020.

1. Candy McKivett

Candy McKivett New Member

can these be planted together?

2. Georgia Strait

Georgia Strait Generous Contributor

South Okanagan & Greater Vancouver, BC Canada
    i am not a rose expert

however I have experience with curly willow

I have a few thoughts

think twice.

do you have deer?

are you in shade in sooke?

do you have limited water in summer (willow like water)

where is your septic system and fresh water pipes in to your property (your house)

be very careful - that willow will be a possible expensive repair on your property

also - curly willow is short lived (as are many poplar willow that grow so fast)
    so the rose can live 40 years - and the willow is falling apart literally by 40 --- so it is not a good combo in my opinion

all this said - I love curly willow - I like to use it in casual english style floral arrangements etc

so I have a huge plastic planter full of rain water - and i grow branches of willow and use for flower arrange etc

it would likely help the rose people on this forum if you name the one you are consideringg

there was a recent thread about a good climbing rose for Maple Ridge BC I think. You can find it on this site.

3. Candy McKivett

Candy McKivett New Member

Thanks for replying! My responses inline below

do you have deer? --- Of course! Yard is getting deer fenced this spring

are you in shade in sooke? --- Only partial, yard has afternoon sun

do you have limited water in summer (willow like water) --- Area is next to veggie garden so gets watered and the park that borders the yard on that side has a the small swamp.

where is your septic system and fresh water pipes in to your property (your house) --- On sewer, not near the garden, garden is in the back, no pipes