areca palms yellowing

Discussion in 'HortForum' started by JoeSoFl, Apr 3, 2010.

1. JoeSoFl

JoeSoFl Member

Hi, I am new to this and am having problems with some areca palms. They are in cement pots outside in southern florida full sun and have slowly become more and more yellow in the fronds and the stalks. They are watered and fronds misted twice a week and I have used a palm fertilizer and and even tried an application of liquid chelated palm nnutritional (Mn,Mg,Fe) a couple months ago but nothing has really helped. there are also a number of fronds with brown tips that need to be trimmed. I do have some new growth that looks a little greener than the other fronds but the stalks are still very yellow. Not sure if they are not getting enough water or if they were not fertilized enough, etc. Any help would be appreciated. Joe

2. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

Mites? More effective fertilization needed? Too much sun?

3. JoeSoFl

JoeSoFl Member

Thats what Im trying to find out. No there are no mites or other insects.

4. saltcedar

saltcedar Rising Contributor 10 Years

5. photopro

photopro Well-Known Member

Do the pots allow for drainage? Do you have the soil amended with sand?

We used to have at least a dozen of these palms in our Miami yard but they always appeared to do best with just less than direct sunlight. I watched them grow from three feet to over 15 feet in four years but they do need regular fertilizer.

I now grow one in an atrium that stands over 14 feet but there is no direct sunlight, only lightly diffused with regular water and fertilizer.

6. JoeSoFl

JoeSoFl Member

thanks for the pic.. mine look pretty much like that, maybe a little more yellow. The pots do drain well. i wonder if they need more water since they get so much sunlight

7. photopro

Does the soil feel dry?

As long as the water flows through quickly more water won't harm the plants but don't allow the roots to remain water logged.