Giant Irish Moss?

Discussion in 'Plants: Identification' started by stonegarden, May 14, 2007.

1. stonegarden

stonegarden Member

I came across this type of Irish moss growing on the coast of California near a lighthouse. It seems to be at least 10X bigger than regular Irish moss. I thought that it was the environment that made it grow larger than normal, but I have been harvesting the seds for 3 years now and it continues to give extra large seeds and grow extra large.

here I have pics of the two types of young Irish moss growing in the same pot, and the same age.

Do I have a certain strand? Is there such a thing as Giant Irish moss? can anyone shed some light on this?

Attached Files:

2. Michael F

Michael F Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator 10 Years

It isn't a moss at all, what you have there is Procumbent Pearlwort (Sagina procumbens). Moss of course has spores, not seeds.

3. stonegarden

stonegarden Member

Hmm... still confused. you were right about the plant on the left being pearlwort. and the scientific name Sagina is synonymous with that of irish moss, and Irish moss DOES have seeds. so where does that leave us? Irish moss is not really a moss at all?

4. saltcedar

saltcedar Rising Contributor 10 Years

You were given a botany lesson, sorry about that.

I'd be curious to know if there are two varieties myself.
    Perhaps there is a polyploid form. Oops! there's that
    botany thing again. :-) Iris Moss is a flowering plant not
    a true moss. This is why I hate common names, they
    just confuse people.
    Regards
    Chris

5. stonegarden

stonegarden Member

so both types are not moss. (in all the garden stores I've been to it has the common name IRISH MOSS and it is always the smaller type) common names aside... from what I gather here are the two plant names in question:
    sagina procumbens and Sagina Subulata one is monster and one is mini.
    amazing. and I have seeds of both:):)

Thanks Michael and Chris

6. saltcedar