Help needed to mount orchid

Discussion in 'Orchidaceae (orchids)' started by Lara, Feb 27, 2007.

1. Lara

Lara Active Member

Hi, I want to mount my Phal. orchid. I have never done that before. What is the proper technique? What kind of bark must be used? What are the alternatives for bark and moss?
    Thanks in advance
    Lara

2. terrestrial_man

terrestrial_man Active Member 10 Years

It is hard to give you any advice in this matter until I know if you are talking about a standard phally or a smaller species phally.

3. Lara

Lara Active Member

Hi, thanks for answering, it is a standard phalaenopsis.

4. terrestrial_man

A standard phally is a very large plant! Do you have a log to mount it on!!! I would think a branch as thick as ones thigh might be ok for a display that would look good.
    If you grow it in a greenhouse then no problem with doing it.
    If you grow in the home then you would have to make sure it has the appropriate humidity (at least 60% though 70%+ is better).
    Moss is not necessary though may add a touch of naturalness to the mount. I would use the plastic clothes line or even the plastic covered baling wire found in hardware stores. even cord would work but will rot off in time, which is not a bad idea if the plant gets a good hold onto the branch.
    The branch should be rough barked like pine but not oozing out any resins.
    Just wrap the binding cord or wire or whatever around the stem of the plant and tie. Be sure the plant is snuggly secured to the branch.

5. Lara

Lara Active Member