European Chafer

Discussion in 'Outdoor Gardening in the Pacific Northwest' started by Casie, Mar 25, 2003.

1. Casie

Casie Member

I have moved to a house in New Westminster where there is an infestation of the European Chafer and I am new to gardening.

Our lawn does looks fairly healthy compared to some neighbouring lawns that have larger brown patches and many more divets from skunks.

So far I've seen only a couple of grubs in our yard, but I'm wondering what special care my lawn I will need this season to avoid a serious problem .

Our lawn seems green and healthy, but also "lumpy" and "loose".

I have read some stuff on controlling chafers. I am not clear if pesticide is needed and how effective it would be anyway. (I'd sure like to avoid having to use it.) What should I be doing when given our climate on the coast?

2. HortLine

HortLine Active Member 10 Years

It sounds like your lawn is not colonized with Chafers yet. The Ministry of Agriculture feel control is only warranted when there are more than 20 grubs found in a 30 by 30cm piece of sod to a depth of 5 cm. Maintaining a healthy lawn would be the prudent approach at this point. The grubs are most damaging in the fall and early spring, however the typical brown patches can be masked by heavy rainfall or irrigation during these times. Lawn damage is often worsened by the skunks so keep your lawn healthy so they won't be tempted. Our mandate at UBC is to recommend sustainable practices without the use of pesticides.

3. Douglas Justice

Douglas Justice Well-Known Member UBC Botanical Garden Forums Administrator Forums Moderator VCBF Cherry Scout Maple Society 10 Years