Japanese Blood Grass

Discussion in 'Small Space Gardening' started by Gnome, May 30, 2006.

1. Gnome

Gnome Member

Hello to all...this is my first time on here initiating a post, but I have been reading from this site for about a year now.
    My question - does anyone in the PNW have experience with Japanese Blood Grass being invasive? I just put it into a planter 5'x6' and 1' high (bottom open to ground) with a spirea and dward cedar and am wondering if this is a mistake.
    Any opinions on this are very much appreciated.
    Thanks.

2. jimmyq

jimmyq Well-Known Member 10 Years

generally no because it is not terribly hardy.

3. Gnome

Gnome Member

Thanks jimmyq - didn't realize this.

4. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

I have seen small patches of it. If definitely creeps when conditions suitable. Typical species is listed as noxious weed by US government.

5. KarinL

KarinL Well-Known Member 10 Years

It depends on how it spreads. I haven't grown this successfully yet, so I don't know if it travels via deep root runners that would get under a 1' high barrier, or if it creeps along the surface. Understanding how a plant travels is essential to keeping it contained. If, for example, it spreads by seed, then containerizing it at all is pointless! I'm guessing that with the bloodgrass, you can safely experiment, in part because of its marginal hardiness, and in part because I don't think it is hard to remove in case it does escape.

6. Gnome

Gnome Member

Thanks for all the replies...
    I've been doing a bit more searching on the internet and I read a lot that says to be careful not to let the grass revert to "all green" blades (supposedly the invasive type that will seed and take over) - went out and looked at mine and half of it is all green.
    I think I will be pulling this one out.

7. petauridae

petauridae Active Member