There must be more than blackberries...

Discussion in 'Outdoor Gardening in the Pacific Northwest' started by Citypicker, Sep 20, 2006.

1. Citypicker

Citypicker Member

I am a student at Emily Carr doing an ethnobotany project on what types of things are edible within (and around) the Vancouver area and I have many questions. (more will be added as I come up with them)

Blackberries are everywhere, but what else is out there?
    Old Vienamese people pick up acorns in Point Gray. What do they use them for?
    Are the chestnuts around here edible and how do I prepare them?
    I have been told of fruit trees in public areas. Do you know of any?
    Plants native or introduced. This is not about the history of plant life here–though it will be looked at, but what is here now and how (and if) it is used.

Feel free to email me if you want to keep the info on the DL. I will not be sharing the exact locations of these as part of my project, just the whole region in general.
    Public areas are key! I am not interested in what can be found in someones garden or deep within an eco-sensitive bog. What I seek is what may be growing wild in the alleys and public areas around the Lower Mainland. The more urban the better!

I look forward to hearing from you!

Citypicker

2. jimmyq

jimmyq Well-Known Member 10 Years

try a decent book about native plants of the PNW, it should give you info regarding uses (former and possibly current) and edibility (is that a word?) etc.

3. Daniel Mosquin

Daniel Mosquin Paragon of Plants UBC Botanical Garden Forums Administrator Forums Moderator 10 Years

jimmyq, I have the impression that Citypicker is looking for more local / anecdotal information than what could be typically found in a regional field guide - essentially, urban ethnobotany.

So, here are a few bits I know / have heard:

Some folks, generally of European descent, pick dandelion leaves. These can be used for salads or to make wine (I've had dandelion wine, meh).