Acer seedling care; pseudosieboldianum seed source

Discussion in 'Maples' started by Calvin_yxe, Jun 26, 2022.

1. Calvin_yxe

Calvin_yxe New Member

Hi all,

I'm brand new to this forum, although I've been admiring the gorgeous photos here for many years. Hopefully you won't mind a relatively newbie's questions regarding some very 'basic' and non-named cultivars.

I live in the frigid prairies (Saskatoon, SK) and have been endlessly envious of the climate of the pacific northwest, but alas, this is home. My hope is to grow a few tender acer species in large containers that will be moved into a 5C winter dormancy area during the harsh winters. I have some questions about seedling care.

I received some acer seed last fall from a mix of sources (freshly collected by a friend as well as some sent in from a BC seed supplier) and stratified a few batches. The seed supplier seed was stratified for 2 months and then grown on indoors under lights in February. I had good germination of acer palmatum and circinatum, nothing from pseudosieboldianum. Unfortunately, my conditions indoor under lights must have been suboptimal, because after an initial burst of growth, they didn't seem to do great. Eventually by the time I got them outside, they were looking pretty rough:
    IMG_5735.jpg

Are these seedlings toast? They've looked like this for about 3-4 weeks. I'm not familiar enough with the life cycle to know whether these are worth keeping. The stems seem turgid, but I can't tell if they're alive. Is lack of any further growth progress this season a sign that they're not worth keeping?

IMG_5736.jpg
    Related to the prior question, this is one of the circinatum seedlings which initially grew well, but has stalled. I see some bud swelling but again, not familiar enough to know whether lack of further growth this season is a sign that I should just give up and chuck these guys.

IMG_5734.jpg