Growing (one) squash vertically

Discussion in 'Fruit and Vegetable Gardening' started by [rachael], Jun 15, 2021.

1. [rachael]

[rachael] New Member

Hello! I'm a beginner gardener, and this is my first post here. :) This picture was taken yesterday at my plot in my local community garden. I've got a kind of square foot garden going. It's a 4' x 10' raised bed but this middle section is 4x4. It has two squash plants on either side with some sunflowers and alyssum growing down the middle in between them.

This near one is spaghetti squash, and it's starting to creep into the flowers and over into my beans (and out of the bed altogether!) so I'd love to give it something to climb up. When I look online, all I see is large, tall trellises for multiple squash plants. Can anyone recommend something to support just ONE plant? Would tying it to a cedar stake work? Or maybe a bamboo tripod with some string tied around it?

Another reason I'd like to get it off the ground is that yesterday I found one leaf at the bottom (which I removed) that had powdery white mildew on it. I hear that giving it more air/space will help with that.

Thanks for your help!

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 17, 2021
  2. Sulev

Sulev Contributor

Any sturdy enough stake will do.
    You must take into consideration, that squashes have pretty large (and pretty delicate) leaves, and therefore you should take care of possible wind forces also, not only weight of vines and fruits.

[rachael] likes this.
  3. [rachael]

[rachael] New Member

Ah, thank you! Will take that into consideration as there isn't a lot to block it from the wind right now. The challenge is that I can't let it grow out of the bed as that's against the garden guidelines. Nor can I put up anything so high that it blocks the sun in the neighbouring plot. But I will start with a stake that I already have and go from there. :)

4. Georgia Strait

Georgia Strait Generous Contributor

South Okanagan & Greater Vancouver, BC Canada