Pruning and notching gone wrong

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by lilac123, Mar 27, 2021.

1. lilac123

lilac123 New Member

Hi everyone! I have managed to keep my fiddle leaf fig alive for over three years which I consider as an accomplishment in itself (it took a lot of reading online to get the soil and watering right)! However as a total plant beginner, I haven't had any luck encouraging branching out for that nice, full, tree look (photo #2). I am hoping to get some feedback on what I might be doing wrong?

The tree is shaped like a V. Both sides of V were the same height when I got it.

Early summer #2:
    • I pruned the right side (photo #3). Was expecting this to create two branches however it only resulted in one new growth that followed the same upright trajectory as the pruned branch. Got 7 dense smaller sized leafs that summer, but no desired branching out effect.
    • I also notched along bottoms of both sides in about 3-4 places. Nothing happened. The cuts eventually healed and closed up. I believe I made them deep enough.
    Early summer #3:
    • I pinched the top bud on the new branch on the right side (above the 7 new small leaves). This fully stunted the growth on the right side. No new leaves the rest of the year.
    • I made few more attempts at notching, no results again.

I haven't done anything to the left side of the V and as you can see it has grown significantly taller and new leaves are significantly bigger than new leaves on the right.

I know that balancing the tree will most likely require pruning the left side of the tree but am reluctant to do any more cutting until I figure out what I did wrong the first time!

Attached Files:

2. Daniel Mosquin

Daniel Mosquin Paragon of Plants UBC Botanical Garden Forums Administrator Forums Moderator 10 Years

That's a good sized plant, I hope someone with experience will be able to help.

3. Sulev

Sulev Contributor