Aquariums compared to gardening & starting off strong

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by wilkyb, Mar 13, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wilkyb

wilkyb New Member

I’m new to the forum. I’ve been growing aquatic gardens & keeping fish for about 3 months now. I’ve had some very satisfying and exciting results so far.

I’m very new to gardening with respect to the emphasis on the research portion. I learned a lot from the aquarium forums, and so naturally here I come!

In your best terms, and to a layman like myself, how do you compare aquarium gardening to plant keeping ?

More specifically, I’d like advice on soil composition. Nothing too extreme here; just garden soil, sand, gravel/stone is what I plan on working with.

I have an idea to put gravel at the bottom of a potted ZZ planter, and then build the substrate upwards from there with a sand & garden soil mix. In my experience so far keeping plants, the soil seems to be lacking oxygen.

Attached is a photo of seeds I plan on propagating soon & some planters I currently care for / adopted from friends. I will be using the seeded plants hydroponically in my aquarium gardens after they have established.

Attached Files:

2. Daniel Mosquin

Daniel Mosquin Paragon of Plants UBC Botanical Garden Forums Administrator Forums Moderator 10 Years

For most indoor plants, use indoor potting soil in a pot with drainage holes at the bottom. Not garden (outdoor) soil, not sand, and not gravel/stone--some of those will specifically cause drainage issues, others will cause drainage issues using the layering of substrates you are suggesting.

Other than the Coleus, the seeds you have there need to be planted outside for any sort of success beyond a week or two.

3. wilkyb

wilkyb New Member