Leafcutter Bees Source?

Discussion in 'Outdoor Gardening in the Pacific Northwest' started by Neill McCallum, Nov 12, 2020.

1. Neill McCallum

Neill McCallum New Member

Hello Everyone,

I have been raising mason bees for a few years and love them and I am just now learning about leafcutter bees and that they are great for summer pollination (mason bees are mostly spring pollinators). I am trying to find where I can get some that are sourced locally for the next growing season. I have found a few online sources, the closest being from a farm in Saskatchewan but I really want as local as possible.

Thank you!

2. Margot

Margot Renowned Contributor 10 Years

Hutchings Bee Service is well-regarded here on Vancouver Island and may be able to help you with your enquiries.

Hutchings Bee Service

3. Georgia Strait

Georgia Strait Generous Contributor

South Okanagan & Greater Vancouver, BC Canada
    ——
    Margot - i recall posts about the sudden spring (for us up here) cancellation of so many flights in March 2020 and imported (legal) bees essential to our agricultural industries

I wonder if Hutchings on VI was effected

I can’t find the original post on UBC forum

So Here is a similar article fr a prairie farm town newspaper - LINK below

Canadian farmers rely on 250,000 imported bees

4. Georgia Strait

Georgia Strait Generous Contributor

South Okanagan & Greater Vancouver, BC Canada
  5. DavidB52

DavidB52 Active Member

Hi, Neill.

Did you ever find a source of leafcutter bees?

I think most of the local nurseries carry them in the Spring and Summer.

The three local nurseries I often visit near Coquitlam (e.g., Triple Tree in Maple Ridge, GardenWorks in Burnaby, etc ) have usually had them; I assume other nurseries in the Lower Mainland do too. Chatting with the staff, their supplier is on Vancouver Island, so the bees are pretty local. I have a duo house (for mason bees and leafcutter bees) and got everything at Triple Tree.