Appreciation: Westonbirt 23/10/2020

Discussion in 'Maples' started by dicky5ash, Oct 24, 2020.

1. dicky5ash

dicky5ash Generous Contributor

A truly magnificent place, well worth travelling a long way to see. I spent nearly 8 hours walking round and maybe covered off 50%. The area called Silkwood was unbelievable, every corner you think it can't get better but it did. Weather was overcast, some sun late on just before I had to leave. I took these photos with a Nikon D3100, set on auto..Im a novice with cameras. Worth viewing on a laptop to see their best. Enjoy:

Attached Files:

2. Acerholic

Acerholic Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator VCBF Cherry Scout Maple Society

@dicky5ash good morning R, we were thinking about you all day yesterday and wondering if the weather was holding out for you and it seems it did. So glad you had a great time, we love Silk Wood also, hope you manged to get over the other side where the older varieties are planted.,
    You said at the end of your post 'enjoy' and we really have. Can't stop looking at them.

'THANKYOU' R

dicky5ash likes this.
  3. dicky5ash

Few more

Attached Files:

LoverOfMaples, emery, AlainK and 3 others like this.
  4. Acerholic

Just to add in October 2024 the International Maple Symposium is due to be held at Westonbirt. As a 'Maple Society' member it's already provisionally in my diary. Could be a fantastic way for everyone to meet up and enjoy the sights !!!?

emery and dicky5ash like this.
  5. dicky5ash

If Westonbirt was say in the US, I believe it would be well worth the expense and effort..I’d probably do it in 3 visits..and then go to other nearby places in the afternoon..Stow, the Wolds and Bibury etc being so close it would work. I’m going to become a member it’s £39 or £15 per visit..and you get free access to various other arboretums.. like Batsford.

The only issue I have is that it kind of puts our trees right back in their boxes.

Count me in 2024..

Attached Files:

zfrittz likes this.