BCIT Student - Capstone project- Designing greenhouse community centre

Discussion in 'HortForum' started by Mindie, Oct 3, 2020.

1. Mindie

Mindie New Member

Hello this is my first time posting to this forum. I am a BCIT student in my graduate year for my interior Design degree. This year we will be focusing on our graduate capstone project. Each of us has the freedom to conceptualize a project that identifies and addresses a need that through design, will positively impact the community.

I have chosen to design an indoor greenhouse and floriculture community centre. The design will provide the community with year round access to plants and their healing properties; gardening space and masters with knowledge; and also creates a social hub for connecting to others.

This is a self-directed project that includes intense research, case studies, conceptual designs and drawings, structural interior planning, construction drawings, building code analysis, visual renderings, presentations and much more.

I am required to find a mentor in the architectural field and also a topic advisor in the horticultural community to help guide my project along. I am reaching out to your form to see if anyone has any tips or advice that may give a little direction. Any advice is appreciated.

Thank you very much!

Mindie – (a budding patio gardener fighting earwigs in my dahlias!)

2. Georgia Strait

Georgia Strait Generous Contributor

South Okanagan & Greater Vancouver, BC Canada
    What an interesting senior project

I notice you said « indoor »

In this day and age - I would also be curious about adapting outdoor areas so people can still meet and greet and do community neighbourhood projects out of the rain or hot sun

I know a coast neighborhood got together recently to build houses for bats - for eg.

For mentors and input - i imagine you already have some « model » projects in mind?