Very Very New to Gardening

Discussion in 'Vines and Climbers' started by desha, Mar 4, 2006.

1. desha

desha Member

Hi All :) I'm really new to gardening as I just moved into my first house in Jacksonville, FL. I have a few palms that I'm trying to identify and I posted on that particular forum. However ... I have a question regarding my chain link fence. I have this large chain link fence around my house and I really don't like it much and I can't afford to put a new fence up, but I was thinking of getting some type of climbing vine or something along that line to plant around the fence and that way it will grow up the fence. Is that possible? And if so, what plant would work best? Only 1/2 of my yard is in the shade, the rest is in full sun if that helps.

Thank you!!

2. globalist1789

globalist1789 Active Member

It is not only possible but very common. A word of warning: if you ever change your mind it would be easier to pull chewing gum out of hair than vines out of a chain link fence. Also, if you have heavy vines and a strong wind, it is very possible for your fence to get pushed over onto the ground.

You might consider some "clematis"; they are popular. The weather here in Vancouver is very different then where you are. I suggest that you head to a local nursery and ask them for suggestions for plants that will a) grow well in that location, b) will do well with the amount of labour you want to put in, and c) be in your price range.

There are also many annual vines. Sweet-peas would work great, they grow fast, look and smell nice, but you will have to replant them each year.

Let me know how it goes.

Michael

3. desha

desha Member

Thanks Michael!

I absolutely love sweet peas and I didn't realize those were climbers. I don't think I've heard of clematis, but I'll have to check out our local nursery to see if they have something to help me out. Thanks for the redirection, it is going to be an exciting year w/ our new house.

4. Weekend Gardener