Bad Graft on Mikawa Yatsubusa?

Discussion in 'Maples' started by BlackMaple, Jul 15, 2020.

1. BlackMaple

BlackMaple Member

Hi! I'm new to maples and this forum. Looking for some answers. Recently got my second maple from an online nursery, as there are little other options available in my area (Austria, Europe).

1. Is this graft bad? It looks uneven and bulging. Is there a way to fix it?

2. How old would you estimate this Mikawa?

3. Do you think approx. 8 hours offull sun from 06:30-15:00 in Zone 7 (Austria) would be too much? If so, would a roof with 50% shade cloth, reducing full sun exposure to 06:30-09:00 work?

Thank you!

Attached Files:

Luke’s Maples likes this.
  2. Acerholic

Acerholic Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator VCBF Cherry Scout Maple Society

@BlackMaple, good afternoon and welcome to the maples forum.
    Next your Mikawa Yatsubusa looks wonderful and the graft is perfectly OK. It does not need any attention at all.
    It is often difficult to tell the age, but IMO I would estimate at about 6 to 7 year old.
    Next on positioning, Japanese maples prefer dappled shade with early morning sun being best. 8 hours of full sun is a too much. You say you would provide shade from 0630hrs -0900hrs , that is the time when it needs some sun light. Afternoon sun is a Japanese maples worst enemy. From 1300 hrs onwards is when protection is needed.
    So position shading material for afternoon and early evening when the sun is at its hottest.

Hope that's of some help.

AlainK likes this.
  3. BlackMaple

BlackMaple Member

@Acerholic thank you! I feared a 50% shade cloth would be blocking too much of the non-direct sunlight, but that sounds good then.

Although I was told by the nursery, that this Mikawa as well as my incoming Bloodgood and Acer shirasawanum Aureum would be full sun tolerant (I explained my conditions), I fear you are right and I need to move quickly.