What is the best time to transplant Korean maple seedlings?

Discussion in 'Maples' started by Sulev, Apr 30, 2020.

1. Sulev

Sulev Contributor

I managed to collect some A. pseudosieboldianum seeds from the Japanese park in Tallinn. I kept these seeds some months in a dry place and sowed these seeds in February into containers, with peat, sandy soil and horse manure mix as a growing medium. Today I found that seedlings are just starting to emerge from the soil. Should I wait for first real leaves before I transplant from sowing container into single plant containers?
    I have no former experience with growing oriental maples from seed.

2. Acerholic

Acerholic Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator VCBF Cherry Scout Maple Society

Hi Sulev, IMO I would wait until until you have two pairs of leaves before lifting and potting on. Then ease the compost away from each seedling and gently lift out by holding a leaf. This is what I have done over the years and have had really good success even with some rare difficult to germinate trees. So much so that I had to give away a lot of young healthy specimens. Hope that's of help.

emery, AlainK and Sulev like this.
  3. Sulev

Sulev Contributor

Thanks for quick response and good advice!