Need help identifying mold growing on top of my houseplant soil

Discussion in 'HortForum' started by Sarah Castorillo, Feb 2, 2020.

1. Sarah Castorillo

Sarah Castorillo New Member

Hello! Newbie here (forum and having houseplants). I’ve been growing my Monstera plant for a good 6 months now and it seems to be going well. Up until a few weeks ago two new leaf growth didn’t uncurl and just broke off. I’m not sure if maybe this weird mold like substance on top of the soil has something to do with it.

I water this plant once a week. Is that too much? Could that be causing the mold?

Attached Files:

2. wcutler

wcutler Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator VCBF Cherry Scout 10 Years

There are so many places I could move this thread, finally decided on the Houseplants forum, but it could be in the Araceae forum, or in the Fungus, Lichens and Slime Molds. I'm paging @Frog to have a look from the fungus aspect.

Sarah Castorillo likes this.
  3. Junglekeeper

Junglekeeper Esteemed Contributor 10 Years

The fungus is apparently quite common in houseplant containers. They seem to make an appearance in mine when conditions are just right. I just scoop them out.

The broken plant parts appear to be from physical damage. Do you have a pet that might be nibbling on your plant?

Detail information on this plant: Monstera deliciosa Liebm., Monstera deliciosa, Exotic Rainforest rare tropical plants. (The site appears to be offline at the moment but you can access a cached version from a search engine like Google or Bing.)

4. Michigander

Michigander Active Member