Geotagging: GPS co-ordinate formats and conversion

Discussion in 'Plants: Science and Cultivation' started by Georgia Strait, Sep 24, 2019.

1. Georgia Strait

Georgia Strait Generous Contributor

South Okanagan & Greater Vancouver, BC Canada
    Hi Wendy - if you have the location settings "on" in your phone (assuming that's what you are using to take all your plant pix) - on iPhone if you go to Albums - then look around in there - People and Places comes up - then it shows a map - and you can drill it down to very detailed map location.

but you have to have location setting switched to "on" --- experiment with it first.

all the usual privacy warnings go with my input here - it's up to you to make the decision but it's fun to be able to look back esp if you're on a garden tour trip etc

I'm sure other smart phone brands have a similar location setting. I'm no expert so just google.

2. wcutler

wcutler Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator VCBF Cherry Scout 10 Years

Thanks. Yes, I did have that and I used it. I didn't realize until just now when I checked that on the phone (my camera), I can see the digital co-ordinates that google wants. I wonder whether the last time I did this I was using a real camera and only could see the co-ordinates on the computer. I'm very happy to learn that I can read them now in the useful format, so thanks for your posting.