Is my new potted JM dying?

Discussion in 'Maples' started by ChrisT2208, Jun 26, 2019.

1. ChrisT2208

ChrisT2208 New Member

Hi all,

I'm worried my JM may be dieing and I'm also a newbie.
    Please help! I love this thing and I've only had it for aprox 3 weeks, maybe a month.

Here are some photos from yesterday....

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 26, 2019
  2. Acerholic

Acerholic Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator VCBF Cherry Scout Maple Society

Hi Chris, I'm afraid you are right. It happens sometimes for no apparent reason, some cultivars are more difficult than others to establish especially the variegated types. If you are going to replace, consider buying from another nursery. Also I would suggest not repotting any new maple until September at the earliest using a bark and compost mix. Do not over water and ensure morning sun and afternoon shade. Don't despair, we have all lost new acquisitions and puserverance will reap its rewards.

3. 0soyoung

0soyoung Rising Contributor

Sometimes JMs do this 'flame out' because of a dramatic change in light level (i.e., from shade to full sun) or other disturbances. I frequently see trees in landscape nurseries do this. If so in your case, the leaves will drop and another flush will appear in 3 to 6 weeks. As long as there are buds, there is hope.

4. JT1

JT1 Contributor 10 Years

The tree is in an environment that dries out the leaves faster than they can keep up, due to the stucco wall and brick pavers. It's also complicated by the cold, cloudy, wet spring for weeks followed by a sudden jump to heat, bright sun, and humidity.

Do you have a better spot for the tree?

Generally speaking:
    Leaves fail from inside out- too wet.
    Leaves fail outside in- too dry.
    Leaves fail all at once- shock or bacterial infection if black areas are present on bark.