Cactus help !

Discussion in 'Cacti and Succulents' started by Connor_98, Dec 23, 2018.

1. Connor_98

Connor_98 New Member

Hi I am new to looking after cacti, I left mine with the parents after going away for a while I've come back and it's in pretty bad shape and I need some help please

1) the bottom of this cacti had mould so I've cut it off, is this part shown in the picture mould? Or is it ok to re pot?
    2feeb9-lb.jpg

2) is it topical for the bottom of the cacti to be brown? ( Ignore the white stuff it's just a top layer my parents thought would be a good idea )

afd391-lb.jpg

3) this is a newly bought cacti any idea what the white spots are ?

aa71af-lb.jpg

Cheers

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 23, 2018
  2. Will B

Will B Active Member

The photos are too small to see much, but the discoloration looks like the fungus has made it into the cactus. I would certainly cut back to the point where you see healthy tissue. Once fungus is inside it will almost always kill the whole cactus if not cut off. Also, be sure to let the wound dry at least a couple of days before replanting. For the bottom cactus, can't tell for sure since the photo is so small, but they kind of look like flower buds. The Notocactus has a pretty yellow flower. Here are some photos of mine in bloom: Notocactus / leninghausii | Aprici gallery

3. wcutler

wcutler Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator VCBF Cherry Scout 10 Years

4. Connor_98

Connor_98 New Member

Hello thank you for replying !! I have taken some more pictures, there is a little cacti attached the the main bunch wish is brown and I have literally just pulled it over as shown in the pictures, is this one dead ? If so do I need to remove it from the main cactus ?

Also is it worth me separating the 2 big cacti and potting them separately?

Also the bases of them are brown but solid is this normal?

Thanks very much !!

Attached Files:

5. Connor_98

Connor_98 New Member

Thank you for the reply I have added some more pictures