Identification: Bonsai Identification

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by Mel markou, Nov 8, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Mel markou

Mel markou New Member

E7894DCB-9FC2-4381-AB1E-AC53407E13BA.jpeg 429B1557-90C2-4596-9FF0-154DEBA17229.jpeg C2EFE150-269A-4101-901B-812B4AFEF4DC.jpeg 35D414E2-00FD-42B3-B3FD-23B3DF6B2D70.jpeg 65BBEB0F-8A7F-4917-B729-6343A32BB0AE.jpeg Hi, I’m very new to the world of Bonsai and I recently received a gift but it didn’t say what species it was on the label. If anyone could help me identify it that would be much appreciated.I have it in my room by the window facing south, I’ve slightly scratched the trunk and it’s green but there has been a few leaves falling off and a few yellow leaves appearing. After lots of research and reading I’m trying to get the watering correct, I’ve also brought some fertiliser which I used the morning after I took this picture which was last night.Any advice on the healthiness of my bonsai would go along way. Thankyou

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 13, 2018
  2. Junglekeeper

Junglekeeper Esteemed Contributor 10 Years

Might be Ehretia microphylla (syn. Carmona microphylla), Fukien Tea Tree.

3. Mel markou

Mel markou New Member

Thankyou

4. Mel markou

Mel markou New Member

It seems to be really loose in the pot, would it be ok to attempt to repot it this time of year? Also if I do repot it can I start to prune back some branches I don’t need or should I wait till it’s growth period come spring, it seems to be growing now tho

5. Junglekeeper

Junglekeeper Esteemed Contributor 10 Years

I don't have an answer for you. These are questions for bonsai enthusiasts. I suggest you repost the questions in a new thread to increase readership. Perhaps moderator @wcutler can help us out in that regard.

6. wcutler

wcutler Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator VCBF Cherry Scout 10 Years