Rubber Tree plant new leaves curl and discolored

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by AnnaK, Aug 17, 2018.

1. AnnaK

AnnaK New Member

Greetings!

I am pretty new to plants. Just started growing plants about 6 months ago. I got a tiny rubber plant seedling and I think it was doing alright. Even the new leaves were opening nicely green and shiny. However, I recently replanted it (I think that's when the problem started) due to the old soil being infested with some flying bugs (look like tiny flies). I used new soil which is in Japan sold as for "indoor greens/indoor foliage".

Now I notice that the two new leaves are opening and they look kind of reddish/brown and even curl downwards. I am not sure if it's because of the watering or what. I try not to overwater, and water most indoor plants on weekends (once a week). I wonder if with the new soil this is not enough/too much. I keep it near the window but it does not get any direct light.

I'll attach photos of what the plant looks like now. If anyone could help out with advice, I'd really appreciate it!

Anna

Attached Files:

2. Junglekeeper

Junglekeeper Esteemed Contributor 10 Years

The plant was likely over-watered before being repotted; the flying bugs were probably fungus gnats, insects which thrive under wet soil conditions. I suggest you discontinue the practice of watering on a schedule but rather water when the soil has had a chance to dry somewhat. Does the container have any drainage holes? Did you fertilize the plant?

Daniel Mosquin likes this.
  3. AnnaK

AnnaK New Member

Thank you Junglekeeper for your reply!
    Yes, I believe you were right about watering too much when I originally planted it. And about the fungus gnats, cause the bugs look like photos online.