My Queen of Night is dying, how can I save it? Please help!

Discussion in 'Cacti and Succulents' started by Mary@ubc, Jun 12, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Mary@ubc

Mary@ubc Member

I am very new to gardening. My plant got some kind of disease suddenly. The leaves turn yellow at first and now the whole plant is infected. Is it possible to save it and how? Please help. I really like this plant and I don't think I can get another one if it dies. Should I cut all the infected leaves ? Will the disease spread to other plants? I have a few orchids too.

Attached Files:

2. mandarin

mandarin Active Member 10 Years

I am not convinced that it is a disease yet, it doesn't look like anything I have seen. Unless it is a virus, they sometimes attack Epiphyllum (your plant is an Epiphyllum oxypetalum).
    Could it be too much direct sun? This species prefers diffused light.

3. Mary@ubc

Mary@ubc Member

It was indoor before and the leaves is turning yellow. I thought it needs sunlight so I move it outdoor last week. I hope you are right! I will move it away from the sun right away and hopefully I haven't done too much damage to it. Thank you for your advice. Is there a way I can tell whether it is a virus attack? Should I move my other plants away from this plant?

4. mandarin

Sunlight is good, but nearly all cacti - including most of the "desert cacti" - need an acclimatization period of gradually increasing exposure before they can tolerate the ultraviolet light, very much like (fair-skinned) humans. This one, which is an epiphyte and normally grows in at least partial shade of other vegetation, is even more sensitive (I have "experimented" with one myself ...). It should do better for example under a tree or behind a transparent sheet of something capable of spreading out the light over a bigger surface.