What have you observed from seedlings?

Discussion in 'Maples' started by maplesmagpie, May 27, 2015.

1. maplesmagpie

maplesmagpie Active Member

The obsession deepens....

A neighbor with more mature JMs gave me eight seedlings last weekend. Some are 2-year seedlings, most are first year. All are from an area with a very interesting assortment of trees... a red dissectum, a Korean maple, a Full Moon maple, two "Beni something" maples (his term, not mine), and a Bloodgood.

I'm new at this, so any and all observations are interesting to me. What have you noticed about seedlings and how their appearance relates to their future color or leaves? Do seed leaves (I have some red, some green, some mottled pink) indicate future color? Or is there no relation at all?

Any advice on how to care for them so they really thrive? Advice on what not to do?

Attached Files:

2. whis4ey

whis4ey Well-Known Member 10 Years

Don't pot them on until they have developed a good root system :)
    Be patient

3. maf

maf Generous Contributor Maple Society 10 Years

The shape of the first leaves above the cotyledons is often somewhat simplified compared to the final shape, but close enough to give you an indication how it will turn out. By the time you have several sets of leaves, you will be pretty much seeing the final shape. The two year seedlings, such as that nice one marked "1 Full moon", will be showing an accurate representation of the final shape, but maybe a little smaller in size depending on conditions.

As to color, again I find that the expression in the young plants is more or less what you will find in the older ones. Obviously factors such as light exposure and fertilization affect the leaf color to some degree. For example if you find a red seedling, you can be pretty sure it will be red when older, but it is difficult to know how the red tones will hold over a growing season until it has been observed for a couple of years.

4. maplesmagpie