The BIG DREAM thread.

Discussion in 'Maples' started by bub72ck, May 26, 2015.

1. bub72ck

bub72ck Active Member

Ok so I have been thinking about this for a while. I have been collecting Japanese Maples for a couple of years now and have made the decision to turn my landscape into a Japanese Garden with an emphasis on maple cultivars. I say Big Dream because I see how much work, time, and money will be involved in my endeavour and I know some of you have already completed some or all of this process. I would like to know about your Japanese Maple garden. Your ambitions that have already come true and also what you want to see in the future. This thread is intended to be in-depth. There are a few topics I would specifically like input on and you are welcome to discuss anything of your choosing under the umbrella of Japanese Maple Gardens. Part of this stems from my interest in what you have done and want to do and the other part stems from just being overwhelmed with what is ahead.

How do you go about planning your beds?
    Do you start and finish one bed at a time or do you have several beds in progress?
    How do you choose your maple cultivars?
    What size trees do you buy?
    How long has your garden been in progress or how long did it take to finish?

Here is an overview of my homesite and garden ideas. In my mind I have split the project into four phases. I am currently in the latter stages of Phase One and beginning work on phase two. Phases three and four are in my back yard and much of what I do back there will come from your advice and recommendations.

I have 5 beds in the front yard and in front of my house. Most of them are finished. I may add one more maple to those beds and it will be something small. I have three Crimson Queens that were already in place when I purchased the home. I have added a Seriyu, Red Pygmy, Butterfly, and a Japanese Sunrise in these beds.