Raw Humate (Humic Acid/Fulvic Acid)

Discussion in 'HortForum' started by ichoudhury, Nov 22, 2010.

1. ichoudhury

ichoudhury Active Member

I ran into this Ebay seller who sells Raw Humate by various size bags. Since I am always looking for a way to improve plant growth, I broke down and purchased some from him :) -> Yes, I do have an Ebay Addiction!

Anyway, so this is what they say about the product ...

So I finally got the product and to me, they look like crushed Charcoal. But what do I know, I am no expert. They didn't have much instruction, so first few days I mixed it up in a watering can and applied to my plants and Trees, and then I have also been mixing up in different places to see a year or two from now that area converted any of those "Georgia Clay" into Humus :-D :-D .. Nah, not holding my breath.

Do you have any experience ? If you do, I like to know how you apply them?

2. paion

paion Active Member 10 Years

I bought this once out of curiosity, think the label said to use it as a soak for seeds, or to spread 10g per square meter as a soil conditioner. Didn't use any scientific approach so didn't really notice any difference, but I'm sure it didn't hurt.

3. mandarin

mandarin Active Member 10 Years

Humate? I my world that is the salts of humic acid. I the cited text it seems to mean something else.
    When peat ages it is slowly transformed into more carbon-rich matter such as brown coal, a.k.a. lignite, and that is what I suspect that this "humate" is. If the age given is correct it would support my hypothesis.
    Why that should improve growth is beyond me. Such old organic matter has a very, very low nutritional value. There might be some acidity left in it, but something younger (peat for example) would provide far more acids (and I suspect it would be cheaper too). I guess they did not give any references to scientific articles about the benefits?