Acer palmatum 'Villa Taranto'

Discussion in 'Acer palmatum cultivars (photos)' started by mjh1676, Apr 21, 2005.

1. mapleman77

mapleman77 Active Member

Hi K4,

Currently I am using a "Miracle Gro" tree and shrub mix and add enough perlite to make it much more aerated. This is seeming to work well but I'll try your mix and see how it goes.

Thanks!
    David

2. Poetry to Burn

Poetry to Burn Active Member

My VT is small and slow but also sturdy. I'm optimistic about spring 09 with VT.

But my comment is about K4's mix. Last fall HD had a 1/2 price deal on that african violet soil. I bought it all and worked it into my mix maybe 25-35%. My observation is that it collapsed before the end of the following year's growing season. Maybe this occurred because I used humate, not sure. But it does seem that pro-mix with AV soil is too peaty of combo and not likely to hold up very long. I'm a fan of pro-mix too but this year I'm using a mix heavy on leaf mould and shredded bark, with just a bit of pro-mix biologique and some seashore soil.

3. mapleman77

mapleman77 Active Member

Interesting conversation about the soil! I have found that my plants look happier now that they're all in the perlite-amended soil. I think that I might just buy some Mycchorrizae myself and add it in when I mix it. I'm trying to make the perfect soil for my trees while keeping budget in mind, because I am acquiring a lot, LOL.

David

4. dawgie

dawgie Active Member 10 Years

Villa taranto has grown slowly for me, but that's fine. I am in no hurry, although I would have left it in a container longer had I known it was so pokey.

Attached Files:

5. winterhaven

winterhaven Active Member Maple Society 10 Years

Spring '09

Attached Files:

6. Kaitain4

Kaitain4 Well-Known Member Maple Society 10 Years

Winter,

That has to be the PERFECT spot for a JM! Very dramatic! Can't wait to see it fully leafed out...

7. winterhaven

Thanks, K4.

This is how it looks now...

Attached Files: