morning glory

Discussion in 'Garden Pest Management and Identification' started by jamest, Aug 29, 2008.

1. jamest

jamest Member

I just recently purchased my first home and the front yard is completely covered in morning glory that i would like to get rid of. My problem is that i am new to this and would just like to get a great start in having a beautiful yard. The grass is completely dead so it is just weeds. Could anyone recommend what steps to take in killing these weeds and starting a new lawn.

2. joclyn

joclyn Rising Contributor

could you post some pics of the 'morning glory'?? i ask because there is a weed that is called morning glory and it is NOT the real thing - which is not a weed. so, need a pic to determine what you have.

3. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

Liable to be a Calystegia.

4. C8luvs2gardn

C8luvs2gardn Active Member

Jocelyn, thanks. that was my question. I was recently given some morning glory seeds, and luckily found out before I planted them (through this board, of course! Thanks UBCBG) that there are 2 plants with that common name. Unfortunately, while we were at our friends' I didn't notice much about the plant they have except bluish purple flowers. The seeds are black, odd shape and fairly large, about the size of a large peppercorn.

Is there any way to tell the 'good' morning glory from the 'bad' (read: invasive)? And also re scientific name, which is 'good' and which is 'bad': Convolvulus or Ipomoea (I googled both and find out that Ipomoea is in the family Convolvulaceae?

5. joclyn

joclyn Rising Contributor

yes the good/wanted and bad/unwanted are all in the same family - convolvulaceae.