New growth on two of my maples

Discussion in 'Maples' started by kaspian, Aug 3, 2008.

1. kaspian

kaspian Active Member 10 Years

I was surprised to notice last week, after a rainy stretch, new leaves emerging on two (out of eight) of the baby maples I planted this year: a Purple Ghost and a Katsura (the JM variety, not the species).

It seems to be getting a bit late in our short growing season -- just about two months before the first frosts may (or may not) arrive -- and I wonder if there's time for the new foliage to properly ripen and harden off before winter. But not that worried. I haven't been overfeeding the trees -- in particular they've gotten very little nitrogen -- and the new growth doesn't seem overly exuberant: just one pair of emergent new leaves on each tiny tree.

I'm new to Japanese maples, so I don't have any basis of comparison. But it's interesting that the two trees showing new growth are distinct from the others in two respects: They are planted in natural, unamended soil at the edges of the surrounding woodland, and they were both -- especially in comparison to the other maples -- showing notable signs of stress from afternoon sun and rapidly drying soil, with the result that I was watering both of them quite often between rainy spells.

Do JMs often do this -- send out new growth in late summer?

2. paxi

paxi Active Member

I'm sorry - I don't know the answers to your questions but I was just about to post a pic of the same thing which happened to my little tamukeyama. I was pleasantly surprised to see this mid summer flush. Tree is overall struggling a bit in full sun and with its small size doesn't have a canopy for protection, so my interpretaion was that some secondary buds were comin out under this stress. thoughts?

Attached Files:

Last edited: Aug 3, 2008
  3. Kaitain4

Kaitain4 Well-Known Member Maple Society 10 Years