My cactus garden

Discussion in 'Gardening for Water Conservation' started by Johnts71, Jul 11, 2008.

1. Johnts71

Johnts71 Active Member

Hello I just joined here to maybe get an answer to my mystery plants I have growing in my back yard and I started browsing and found this...ahh this is home. I moved into a new house which came with no grass in the backyard. I kinda joked with my wife and told her we should make it into a desert. I drew the design on a piece of paper and the rest is history. Most of the cacti I have was given to me. Some of the cacti are native to my area. I have always been a fan of cactus and found them intriguing. I started on my cactus garden back in march so most of my cacti are in their infant stage. Here are a couple of pics of what I have.

Attached Files:

2. GreenLarry

GreenLarry Active Member 10 Years

Cool little desert you got there! The cactus in the second pic is some kind of Ferocactus,tho i'm no expert,could be wiszlezenii?
    In the last pic it looks like a Euphorbia ,or is it a cholla? You plan on getting more plants,and will you only be going for american plants? I'd get an Agave or two in there too.

3. Michael F

Michael F Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator 10 Years

Nice, though that vivid green lawn looks a bit out of place next to it! Also a fairly high risk that watering the grass will make the soil too wet for the cacti (they have very wide-spreading roots).

4. GreenLarry

Hmmm never thought of that! But then i never water the grass,no need over here! I guess there may be a need in Texas tho,unless you just let it be and don't water it,see how long it lasts and then let it go brown. I've had a lawn hop completely brown and dead looking,yet after a single downpour its green again. Grass is incredibly tough and shouldn't need watering really.

5. Johnts71

Johnts71 Active Member

the 2nd picture is a Saguaro and its grown nicely. The other is a cholla which is growing like a weed.