Need help with sick japanese maple, please.

Discussion in 'Maples' started by cavalfilter, Apr 5, 2008.

1. cavalfilter

cavalfilter Member

i don't know much (or anything) about gardening so forgive my global ignorance, but i need help with my japanese maple. it is old, about 5' x 8', i don't what variety, and was transplanted about two years ago. it was doing well until this spring when it has failed to produce any leaves while other JMs have fully bloomed. the base of the tree was covered with ground cover and rocks, and not knowing anything about plant disease i am assuming that is the problem, but i don't know. can anyone offer advice? thanks.

please see below, reply #4, where i have added new and old PHOTOS of the tree.
    thanks.

Last edited: Apr 6, 2008
  2. paxi

paxi Active Member

Just a beginner here, but you might get some more targeted advice if you are able to take some pics of tree, bark, etc. Have you broken off a few twigs - are your getting brown or green?

good luck

Last edited: Apr 5, 2008
  3. alex66

alex66 Rising Contributor Maple Society 10 Years

Ditto Paxi with pics are better;howeverer possible under watering...

4. cavalfilter

cavalfilter Member

thanks for the comments so far.

i have uploaded some very recent pix and a comparison picture from two years ago. not knowing anything else, i believe that the ground around the base of the tree became too soggy b/c it was covered and no good evaporation could occur, so i took up some of the rocks and ground cover today. i am hoping that the tree can recover. some of the peripheral twigs/branches are dead but i don't know about more of the central branches. thanks.

Attached Files:

5. whis4ey

whis4ey Well-Known Member 10 Years

Are those rocks actually set on top of polythene?

6. alex66

Sam is rigth! polythene for me is the cause,because the water not watering the roots!
    the roots system not have a good transpiration...

7. cavalfilter

cavalfilter Member