Looking for an arborist

Discussion in 'Outdoor Gardening in the Pacific Northwest' started by mhern, Dec 17, 2007.

1. mhern

mhern Active Member

Pardon me if this is the wrong forum..I'm just a newbie and I'm still exploring the site. I need help in finding a reliable arborist in Richmond, BC. We have 2 huge lombardi poplars that we want to get rid of. Any recommendation would be appreciated. Thanks.

2. jimmyq

jimmyq Well-Known Member 10 Years

Two companies I suggest are tall timber tree services and BC plant health care. Both are well equipped, experienced and insured.
    City of Richmond has a strong tree retention bylaw, check it out on line at the City site or city hall before you do anything drastic with those trees, heavy fines can be levied if the bylaw isnt followed. Just FYI. :)

3. KarinL

KarinL Well-Known Member 10 Years

If it's a climbing job as opposed to one that requires a bucket truck, as was a huge conifer removal job we just had done, then you don't need a company with tons of equipment, full estimator services, a receptionist answering the phone, and so on. There are times when you want a company like that - for example when power lines are involved, since they usually have a utility arborist on staff. But for a garden-variety removal, you may get a lower rate from an arborist-owner-operator sized outfit. Ours was done by WoodPro Tree Services, with a fully satisfactory outcome.

4. jimmyq

woodpro, yes, Carl can be quite capable.

For a first referral I normally go with companies that cover the "oops" factor well. If the odds or cost of an 'oops' are low, then more players are in the game for certain.
    Covering the 'oops' factor to me has nothing to do with employee count but rather insurance, WCB and experience. which of course is no indicator of ability... While estimates are generally free, why not try a few different folks?

5. mhern

mhern Active Member